Saturday, February 19, 2011

2010 Pretentious Film Awards - The Winners

Here is my list of winners for the 3rd Annual Pretentious Film Awards. Here's hoping 2011 is another great year for movies!

*Denotes Winner
**Denotes Runner-Up
***Denotes Second Runner-Up

Best Picture

Black Swan
Blue Valentine**
The Social Network*
Winter's Bone

Best Director

Darren Aronofsky - Black Swan
Derek Cianfrance - Blue Valentine**
Yorgos Lanthimos - Dogtooth
David O. Russell - The Fighter***
David Fincher - The Social Network*

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Aaron Eckhart - Rabbit Hole
Jesse Eisenberg - The Social Network**
James Franco - 127 Hours
Ryan Gosling - Blue Valentine*
Tahar Rahim - A Prophet***

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Nicole Kidman - Rabbit Hole***
Jennifer Lawrence - Winter's Bone
Lesley Manville - Another Year*
Tilda Swinton - I Am Love
Michelle Williams - Blue Valentine**

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Christian Bale - The Fighter*
Andrew Garfield - Never Let Me Go**
John Hawkes - Winter's Bone
Mark Ruffalo - The Kids Are All Right***
Miles Teller - Rabbit Hole

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Dale Dickey - Winter's Bone
Melissa Leo - The Fighter***
Mia Wasikowska - The Kids Are All Right
Jacki Weaver - Animal Kingdom*
Dianne Wiest - Rabbit Hole**

Best Original Screenplay

Animal Kingdom
- David Michôd***
Another Year - Mike Leigh**
The Fighter - Keith Dorrington, Eric Johnson, Scott Silver and Paul Tamasy
Blue Valentine - Derek Cianfrance*
Toy Story 3 - Michael Arndt, John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich

Best Adapted Screenplay

Never Let Me Go
- Alex Garland
Rabbit Hole - David Lindsay-Abaire**
Scott Pilgrim vs. The World - Michael Bacall and Edgar Wright
The Social Network - Aaron Sorkin*
Winter's Bone - Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini***

Best Editing

127 Hours
- Jon Harris
Black Swan
- Andrew Weisbaum**
Blue Valentine - Jim Helton and Ron Patane***
Inception - Lee Smith
The Social Network - Kirk Baxter and Angus Wall*

Best Cinematography

127 Hours
- Enrique Chediak and Anthony Dod Mantle**
Black Swan - Matthew Libatique*
Enter the Void - Benoît Debie
The Social Network - Jeff Cronenweth***
True Grit - Roger Deakins

Best Original Score

- Hans Zimmer***
The Illusionist - Sylvain Chomet
The King's Speech
- Alexandre Desplat
Never Let Me Go - Rachel Portman**
The Social Network - Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross*

Best Original Song

For Colored Girls
- "La Donna in Viola" (Performed by Andrea Jones-Sojola and Karen Slack)
The Illusionist - "Chanson Illusionist" (Performed by Sylvain Chomet)*
Never Let Me Go - "Never Let Me Go" (Performed by Rachel Portman)**
Scott Pilgrim vs. The World - "Threshold" (Performed by Sex Bob-Omb)
Scott Pilgrim vs. The World - "We Are Sex Bob-Omb" (Performed by Sex Bob-Omb)***

Best Costume Design

Black Swan
- Amy Westcott**
The Fighter - Mark Bridges
I Am Love - Antonella Cannarozzi*
Inception - Jeffrey Curland
True Grit - Mary Zophres***

Best Achievement in Art Direction

Black Swan
- Tora Peterson and David Stein**
Dogtooth - Elli Papageorgakopoulou
I Am Love - Nadine Herrmann*
Inception - Guy Hendrix Diaz, Larry Dias and Doug Mowat
The King's Speech - Judy Farr and Eve Stewart***

Best Visual Effects

Black Swan**
Scott Pilgrim vs. The World

Best Makeup/Hair

Black Swan*
A Prophet**
Scott Pilgrim vs. The World

Best Sound Mixing

127 Hours**
The Fighter
The Illusionist
The Social Network

Best Sound Editing

Black Swan*
Toy Story 3**
Scott Pilgrim vs. The World

The Social Network**

Top Ten Films of 2010

1. The Social Network
2. Blue Valentine
3. Dogtooth
4. Winter's Bone
5. Black Swan
6. The Fighter
7. Another Year
8. Animal Kingdom
9. The Illusionist
10. Never Let Me Go

No comments: